9.7 C
Frankfurt am Main

New Turkish parliament to convene on Friday as election results become official

Must read

The new Turkish Parliament, whose members claimed victory in an election on May 14, will convene for its first session on Friday after the results of the elections became official with their publication in the Official Gazette on Tuesday.

An oath-taking ceremony will take place on Friday, and the new legislature will be opened by the oldest member of parliament, leader of the far-right Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) Devlet Bahçeli.

According to the official results of the May 14 parliamentary elections announced by the Supreme Election Board (YSK), President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan’s ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) received 35.6 percent of the nationwide vote, getting 18,586,137 votes in Turkey and 806,325 from overseas voters. The AKP won 268 seats in the parliament.

The main opposition Republican People’s Party (CHP) garnered 25.3 percent of the nationwide vote as it received 13,374,463 votes from citizens in Turkey and 427,720 votes from overseas, giving it 169 seats.

The MHP, an election ally of the AKP, received 10.07 percent of the nationwide vote, getting the support of 5,283,345 votes from Turkey and 201,475 from abroad. The party won 50 seats.

The İYİ (Good) Party, part of the opposition’s Nation Alliance, received 9.6 percent of the nationwide vote, getting 5,211,632 votes from Turkey and 64,349 from abroad. The party won 43 seats in the legislature.

The nationwide vote for the pro-Kurdish Green Left Party (YSP), which won 61 seats, stood at 8.8 percent as it received 4,624,094 votes from Turkey and 179,828 from overseas.

The pro-Kurdish Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP), which faces a closure case on terrorism charges, ran in the elections under the banner of the YSP to avoid the risks that could stem from its possible closure by the Constitutional Court before the elections.

Small parties such as the Islamist New Welfare Party (YRP), which ran under the AKP banner, got 2.8 percent of the nationwide vote and won five seats, while the Workers’ Party of Turkey (TİP), which was part of the leftist Labor and Freedom Alliance, got 1.7 percent of the vote and won four seats.

The turnout for the May 14 general elections was 87.05 percent, with a total of 55,835,895 votes cast in Turkey, overseas and at customs checkpoints, of which 54,442,588 were valid. The turnout among 3.2 million diaspora voters for the May 14 elections was 53.8 percent.

The YSK will also announce the official results of the second round of the presidential election, held on May 28, on Thursday. The runoff was held since none of the presidential candidates managed to surpass the 50 percent threshold required for an outright victory.

According to preliminary results of the runoff election, Erdoğan has extended his two-decades-long rule to 2028 by garnering 52.1 percent of the vote, while his main rival, Kemal Kılıçdaroğlu, received 47.8 percent.

Erdoğan will take his oath of office in parliament on Saturday and will announce his new cabinet at that time.

Liked it? Take a second to support Turkish Minute on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
More News
Latest News