15.9 C
Frankfurt am Main

Turkey has declared 351 curfews in Kurdish region since August 2015

Must read

Turkish authorities declared 351 curfews in 11 predominantly Kurdish provinces between Aug. 16, 2015 and Jan. 1, 2019 according to the Turkish Human Rights Foundation (TİHV), Bianet reported.

In this period, 204 curfews were declared in Diyarbakır; 54 in Mardin; 23 in Hakkari; 13 in Şırnak; 20 in Bitlis; seven in Muş; seven in Bingöl; six in Tunceli; six in Batman; two in Elazığ; and nine curfews in Siirt.

TİHV said at least 1.809 million people were living in that area based on the latest population survey.

The reason behind the curfews was military operations against outlawed Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) militants inside Turkey.

TİHV believes the curfews violated fundamental human rights, including the right to liberty, security, property and education.

The data did not include daily curfews, which ended 24 hours after they were imposed.

According to the foundation, at least 23 curfews lasting 24 hours were declared in villages in Hakkari and Bitlis provinces.

Turkey’s ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) declared war on terrorism following the termination of peace negotiations with the PKK after the Kurdish Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP) garnered more than 10 percent of the vote and ended the AKP’s parliamentary majority in the June 2015 elections.

Liked it? Take a second to support Turkish Minute on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
More News
Latest News