Site icon Turkish Minute

Turkey reshuffles Cabinet, replaces or swaps 11 ministers

Prime Minister Binali Yıldırım announces the new cabinet list at a news conference in the Parliament in Ankara on July 19, 2017.

Turkish Prime Minister Binali Yıldırım on Wednesday announced a new Cabinet list that included replacements or swaps in 11 out of 26 ministries, following a two-hour meeting with President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan at the presidential palace in Ankara.

With the replacements in the ministries, Abdülhamit Gül became minister of justice, Jülide Sarı Eroğlu became minister of labor and social security, Osman Aşkın Pak became minister of youth and sports, Ahmet Eşref Fakıbaba became minister of food, agriculture and livestock, Numan Kurtulmuş became minister of culture and tourism, Nurettin Canikli became minister of defense and Ahmet Demircan became minister of health.

The deputy prime ministers in the new Cabinet are Bekir Bozdağ, Mehmet Şimşek, Fikri Işık, Recep Akdağ and Hakan Çavuşoğlu.

The ministers who were left out of the Cabinet are Veysi Kaynak, Mehmet Müezzinoğlu, Çağatay Kılıç, Faruk Çelik, Nabi Avcı and Tuğrul Türkeş.

With the return of President Erdoğan to the Justice and Development Party (AKP) in May, which was made possible by the approval of a constitutional referendum in April, the government was expected to carry out a reshuffle in the Cabinet since Erdoğan referred to a need for a rejuvenation in the party.

Liked it? Take a second to support Turkish Minute on Patreon!
Exit mobile version