Site icon Turkish Minute

Turkey imposed 369 curfews in Southeast in last 4 years: report

PHOTO: Posta

Local Turkish authorities imposed 369 curfews in the southeastern region of the country between Aug. 16, 2015 and July 1, 2019, according to the Turkish Human Rights Foundation (TİHV), the Artı Gerçek news website reported on Monday.

The curfews directly affected over 1.8 million people in 11 predominantly Kurdish provinces and 51 districts, TİHV said.

Two hundred fourteen of the curfews were imposed in Diyarbakır, followed by Mardin (54), Bitlis (26), Hakkari (23), Şırnak (13), Siirt (11), Muş (7), Bingöl (7), Tunceli (6), Batman (6) and Elazığ (2).

The Turkish government, after ending peace talks with the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) in 2015, launched a massive military operation in the southeastern region, where millions of people had to emigrate and residential areas in several cities were demolished.

Liked it? Take a second to support Turkish Minute on Patreon!
Exit mobile version